Tags

, ,

I haven’t written much here since my father passed away almost 2 years ago. But thanks to my  friend Rachel over at Djibouti Jones,  I am inspired to write again. She writes a post called Marathon Miles on Mondays!

Since I am doing something a little different this year – I am running an ultra marathon! I decided to try writing about – probably not weekly – but often enough that you can get a feel for how things are going!

An Ultra Marathon is anything over 26.2 miles. Most ultra’s are either a 50K, 50 Mile, 100K or 100 Miles. I am doing a 50K = 31 Miles. The training follows the same pattern – 18 weeks of training leading up to the ultra!  I am in week 8 of my training and have completed a 20 mile run and 2- 16 miles runs. I still have a 22, 24 and 26 mile run to complete!

This winter running has proved to be a bit more challenging. We have had more snow and the trails are not plowed as often. I have had to run in the streets so I am very thankful to be living in a suburb – I can run in the middle of the street in the middle of the morning or afternoon and not be concerned much with traffic!  The wind chill has also been a concern. I have come home from several of my long runs with wind burned  knees!  But overall, I am pleased with my training.

The skeleton of my training week has the following elements to it:

Monday and Wednesday – a 60-90 minute run. I try to get in as many miles as I can during this time.

Tuesday and Thursday are core workout days. P90X is my program of choice, but I also do a lot of planks when I travel and don’t take the DVD with me!

Friday and Saturdays are back to back long runs. One is the ultra long run of 16+ miles and the other is half the distance. The idea is to get used to running on tired legs!

My ultra is scheduled for April and will be on single track trail. My goal is to do all of my long runs on trails once the snow melts in March?!?!?!?

Image

Off to run!

