I don’t often crash and burn, but when I do, there are days without a mom sighting! I should have known on Sunday when I slept for 6 hours in the afternoon that something was up! But it took until Monday night when I went to bed before I knew that I would be down for the count!   It was a crash and burn sort of day!  When I went to bed that night, it hurt to lay.  It hurt to move.  It hurt to cough.  My head felt like it was going to explode and the only way to control the uncontrollable shaking was to put the heating pad under me and stabilize my body temp!  Yeah, I was going down, hard and fast!

Tuesday I didn’t move much! When I did finally move, my son said to me, “You don’t look so good.”  Well when one is white as a sheet and feeling pretty lousy, I guess looking good is not at the top of the list!  Probably not even possible! There was at least one improvement, I wasn’t shaking anymore but every muscle, bone and fiber of my being hurt.   I am thinking that  death would have felt better than what I was experiencing.

My son’s basketball banquet was scheduled for Tuesday night – the day I felt the worst and moved the least.  He is a senior.  This was important to my son and I needed to be there.  So I took as much Tylenol as I could and made it to the banquet!  Everyone who knew me, knew that even though on the outside I looked pulled together and dressed for the occasion, I was not myself.  As soon as the festivities were over, I came home and went back to bed.

It is now Wednesday – I am actually moving a bit more and seem to be on the mend.  On Monday as I was dropping some things off at church a good friend came alongside me and lovingly said I needed to slow down.  He reminded me that I have a lot of stress in my life in just about every area.  Stress will do strange things to one’s body.  He also reminded me that while I enjoy running and mentally it is a stress reliever, training for a marathon is still physically stressful.  This has been a year of struggling to maintain my health – It took the gentle reminder from a friend to pull back where I can.  Wise but hard words.  My body is stressed on just about every level and needs some down time to recover.  Guess God was making sure I got the rest I needed before I begin the busy training schedule!

Thanking God for the rest and will continue to rest this week!  Slowing down is not going to be easy, but as a good marathon runner knows, pacing is essential to finishing the race.  With the training season beginning next weekend, I need to pace myself for the long haul and be ready for not only this summer’s overseas trip, but the potential of 3 next year! So having the big picture in mind, I have pulled back on the intensity of the workouts for Marathon training!  If I wasn’t stretched on almost every other level of my life, the training would be great.  But with Gary’s unemployment continuing to stretch out; My dad’s continuing decline in health and managing a growing ministry, the physical stress of increasing training put me over the edge.  Sometimes I forget that I am no longer in my 3o’s and it takes my body longer to recover from things.

Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one receives the prize? So run that you may obtain it. Every athlete exercises self-control in all things. They do it to receive a perishable wreath, but we an imperishable. So I do not run aimlessly; I do not box as one beating the air. But I discipline my body and keep it under control, lest after preaching to others I myself should be disqualified. – I Corinthians 9:24-27

Going for the imperishable crown.

