Tags

The realities of having an unemployed husband are beginning to hit home.

The Goodness of God is a true and present reality.

When Gary was laid off in December, the optimist in me was thinking we will have a quiet holiday Gary will be interviewing and he will be employed by early January.  Well life didn’t work out exactly that way.  We did have a quiet holiday, but we have started February and there is not a job on the horizon.  He has been having at least 1 interview per week – sometimes more.  So far we have not seen a job offer.

The severance check finally came – 2 weeks later than we anticipated.  The government treats a severance check like a bonus and taxes it heavily!  After crunching the number, we have determined that we have about 30% less to live on now than when he was employed. This is challenging when you have 5 children, 3 teenagers and 1 who eats like he is a teenager!  College expenses, food and gas are variable from week to week and then there are the fixed  expenses.  It is going to take a lot of managing to keep to a budget!

However God has continued to provide reminders that He is a promise keeping God.  While we were waiting for the severance check to come, we were in need of a few things from the store.  However we did not have any money.  I was continuing to piece things together, but it was getting rather difficult.  One day I went to the mailbox and there was a card in the mail and there was a gift card to the local store – I was able to get a few things to get us through the week until the severance check came.  The card  was not signed, but full of Promises from God.  It was as if God was saying to me, “I am here.  I have not forgotten you and I will take care of you.  Just trust Me.”

On that same day, a friend called me just to encourage me to continue pressing on with Giovanna.  She knows how hard it has been for me but was thankful for the road that I have taken with her.  She has been a great source of encouragement for me and a prayer warrior.

It seems that on every front that has been hard, God has used someone to encourage me and not just for today, but for the long haul.

We don’t know how long this season will last, but we know who will be guiding us every step of the way.  We are so thankful for the prayers of the saints.  We feel them everyday!