The weekend of 10-12 December 2010 will go down in the record books as one of the biggest storms to hit the twin cities area.  We received about 18 inches of snow, some places more, some less.  It snowed for about 24 hours and then the winds kicked in!  Visibility was down to about a city block!  It was a good old-fashioned blizzard!  I have lived in the Twin Cities for 14 years and this is the first real blizzard we have had.

What surprised me the most was driving to Church on Sunday morning was the amount of snow still on the roads in big drifts.  I did expect that side streets like our cul-de-sac to not be plowed, but on some of the major streets through the town I live in, I did expect them to be plowed and for the most part at least one lane was.  It was still shocking to see all the drifts on the roads and to be driving through past them.  However by about 3:30 when I went out for a walk, the streets were plowed and it was beautiful.

The bush outside my front door!

The sun was out and the winds had died down by the time I got outside for a walk.  It was beautiful to see a white washed landscape.

The beauty of freshly fallen snow!

Everywhere I looked I saw blankets of white and it was so quiet.  All I could hear as I walked was the snow crunching under my boots!  In the quiet that surrounded me, the following verse came to mind;

“Come now, let us reason together, says the LORD: though your sins are like scarlet, they shall be as white as snow; though they are red like crimson, they shall become like wool. (Isaiah 1:18)

As I looked at the piles of snow all around me, I realized that  my sins as they are covered in the blood of Jesus, become white as the snow!  I am cleansed by His blood!  WOW – that is truly amazing when you let it sink in!

Recently I read – as far as the east is from the west, so far does he remove our transgressions from us.(Psalm 103:12).  As I look out my window and see the vastness of the pristine white snow, I am so thankful that this verse is true in my life.  And I long for the day when I no longer need to worry about how things are said or done because I will be looking into the face of my savior and thanking him for  His work on the cross.  Oh LORD hasten that day!  I long to look upon your face, hear your voice and worship you with others from every tongue, tribe and nation!  What a glorious sight that will be!

