After hearing a very loud crash coming from the kitchen, I walked towards the kitchen and  heard my oldest daughter say, “Don’t worry, I am Ok and I don’t think I broke anything.”

Not exactly what I wanted to hear.  And after looking around I saw –

 

One Very Cracked Tea Pot!

Which reminded me of –

Be appalled, O heavens, at this;
be shocked, be utterly desolate, declares the LORD,
for my people have committed two evils:
they have forsaken me, the fountain of living waters,
and hewed out cisterns for themselves, broken cisterns that can hold no water.
Jeremiah 2:12,13

This caused me to think about my life and how it is like a broken cistern, a cracked pot and He still loves me and called me to be His Child.  That is amazing and causes one to look at broken pots and lives much differently!  Tea Pots can be replaced fairly easily – but lives are fragile and sometimes come with unspeakable damage.  Sometimes we are asked to do things that seem outrageous by our Heavenly Father!  Just ask Mary the mother of Jesus.

Imagine my surprise,  after contemplating the above before going to church and then hearing that the sermon topic today was – Mary the Mother of Jesus and what we can learn from her as a disciple of Christ!  Mary had an amazing and deep faith in her God.  The same God that I worship today!  When God’s messenger told her that she was going to be the mother of the Holy Son – Jesus the Christ, she did not waver in her obedience.  Also notice that God did not ask for her permission!  He informed her of His plan – His good and perfect plan – a plan that by participating in could cost her life!  But Mary does not hesitate in her obedience and trusts that if it is God’s plan, everything will work out for the good of Mary and the Glory of God!

That is the kind of faith that I want in my life – to do what God asks, without hesitation!  That is the faith that I pray for in myself, my children and for those that God brings into my life.  It is a faith that begins with small steps of obedience and grows throughout my life and the lives of others.  It is something that I have been earnestly praying for in the past 4 years.  Am I there yet?  I doubt it, but seeing the cracked and broken tea-pot this morning reminded me that God has done a great work already in my life by calling me out of darkness and into marvelous light (I Peter 1:9).  And from the ashes of brokenness He will bring forth beauty, just as He has promised in Isaiah 61;

The Spirit of the Lord GOD is upon me,
because the LORD has anointed me to bring good news to the poor;
he has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted,
to proclaim liberty to the captives,
and the opening of the prison to those who are bound;
to proclaim the year of the LORD’s favor,
and the day of vengeance of our God;
to comfort all who mourn;
to grant to those who mourn in Zion—
to give them a beautiful headdress instead of ashes,
the oil of gladness instead of mourning,
the garment of praise instead of a faint spirit;
that they may be called oaks of righteousness,
the planting of the LORD, that he may be glorified.
They shall build up the ancient ruins;
they shall raise up the former devastations;
they shall repair the ruined cities,
the devastations of many generations.
Isaiah 61:1-4

God’s promises do not always look like what the world calls success, but it will bring joy – to others and to myself.

Ultimately what is most important is glorifying God and showing others how to find him and glorify Him as well.

That is what I will be praying for all my friends and family this Christmas Season!

