Well this has been my week for experimenting!  Tried a second recipe for GF bread yesterday.  I should have realized that given how broken up my day was and how hard it turned out to be, trying something new was not a good idea.  But I did it anyway and the results were so-so.  The bread tasted fine, just came out really heavy.  And since I didn’t even start it until 6 PM – I haven’t really had time to think about why it was so heavy!  Anyway, here is recipe number 2!

GF Multi Grain Bread

2 cups brown rice flour, finely ground
1 cup GF oat flour
1 1/2 cups sweet sorghum flour
1 cup tapioca flour (not starch)
1/2 cup potato flour (not starch)
1/2 cup sweet rice flour
2 packages yeast or 2 Tablespoons if you use bulk
1 Tablespoon + 1 teaspoon xanthan gum
5 eggs at room temperature
4 Tablespoons maple syrup (the real stuff, not the imitation)
1/2 cup butter, melted
2 1/2 cups milk ( or Rice milk)

1.  Grease 2 9 inch loaf pans.  (I sprayed mine with Pam or you can spread some butter and dust with rice flour).  Set aside

2.  Place all the flours, yeast, xanthan gum into a mixing bowl and mix well.

3.  In a separate bowl, hand whisk the eggs, maple syrup, butter and milk.   Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix until combines.  Then mix for 5 minutes on medium high speed.  Batter is supposed to resemble a thick cake batter (mine did not which is why is was so heavy, but am not sure why it was so thick).

4.  Spoon batter into prepared pans.

5.  Let dough rise in a warm place for about 40 minutes or until doubled in size.

6.  Bake in a 350 degree overs for 40 minutes.  Cool for 10 minutes in the pans and then remove.

They boys like the taste, but not the heaviness (Ok so I don’t blame them on that one.)  The next time I think I will leave out the sweet Rice flour and see what happens.

 

