We have been eating Gluten Free for almost 10 years, ever since my oldest son was diagnosed as a celiac.  There are many  more choices on the market these days than when I started.  However cooking is made a bit of a challenge since he doesn’t tolerate corn!  Most GF products have corn in them.  Since my first was diagnosed, my youngest son has also been diagnosed with Celiac disease and just this spring I was tested and have wheat “issues” – not necessarily a celiac, but need to avoid wheat!

One of the hardest things to replace is bread.  Most of the breads made with rice flour are dry and crumbly, definitely not for sandwiches.  The taste is not that great either.  So I have been web surfing for recipes and have found some that are looking promising!

Today was my first attempt at baking GF bread.  And the result:

Four loaves - fresh out of the oven!

This is the best recipe that I have tried.  The texture is soft and holds together nicely.  According to the GF boys – it is fluffy and good!  They LIKE it!  Warm out of the oven with Nutella – absolutely yummy!  It is a bit doughy and needs a bit of tweaking, but overall it is the best we have had.

The Recipe:

I got the original off of the internet, but have no idea where.  However I did change it a bit and here is the version I used today.

4 cups brown rice flour blend (more on this later)
1 Tablespoon Xanthan Gum
2 teaspoons salt (I didn’t use)
1 pkg active dry yeast (1 Tablespoon if using bulk)
3 large eggs
1/4 cup butter
2 teaspoons cider vinegar
1/3 cup honey
1/2 cup milk
1 3/4 cup warm water

For the rice flour blend, I used the following (I  make up a big batch and have it on hand as I need it)

1 1/3 cups brown rice flour, as finely ground as you can get it
1 1/3 cup tapioca flour (NOT STARCH)
1 1/3 cup arrowroot powder
1 Tablespoon Potato Flour (NOT STARCH)

1.  Grease and flour 2 8-inch loaf pans (I used smaller sized loaf pans and made 4 small loaves)

2.  Mix dry ingredients together in a medium-sized bowl and set aside

3.  Place eggs, butter, vinegar, honey and milk into a mixing bowl.  Mix ingredients together for about 30 seconds.  I used a hand-held mixer with the dough hooks.  The butter might not be completely mixed in and could be a bit chunky.

4.  Add the dry ingredients 1/2 at a time and mix each addition until just blended in.

5.  Add the water and mix until it is absorbed.  Mix at low-speed, unless you want water splattered everywhere:-).  Turn the mixer to med. high and mix for 3-4 minutes, until it resembles cake batter (a sort of thick cake batter).

6.  Spoon the dough into your loaf pans.  Set in a warm place to rise about 50-60 minutes.  (I put mine in a warm oven for 45 minutes).

7.  Bake at 375 degrees for 50 minutes (I baked my smaller loaves for about 35-40 minutes).

8.  Let bread cool in pans for 8-10 minutes.  Remove from the pans to cool to a rack to cool.

Ours didn’t last long once it was out of the pan!

Enjoy!

I would make some adjustments to the recipe, but overall it was by far the best we have had!

