I have arrived in Nebraska to help with my dad’s appointment.  The drive down here is always good for praying and processing!  However this time there was not as much processing to do, but a lot of praying did happen.  I did stop to see my dad briefly on the way to my mom’s.  There is not much new here – my dad has gotten much more rigid because he continues to want others to do what he should be doing for himself.  His temper is short, he patience is almost non-existent and his humor is hard to find.  My dad is much closer to the end of his life with each breath that he takes.  I have had to make the choice to encourage when I can, but really just enjoy the time that I have left with my dad.  This is a change since in the past, I would always push my dad to continue to work towards keeping what little strength and movement he has.  But the reality is that I am here only for a week or two at a time.  I can’t come as often as I would like – which means that there is no long-lasting benefit of my “pushing” him and he generally gets somewhat agitated.  So I as I was driving, it became apparent that the best thing I can do is to just enjoy him while he is still here and encourage him to seek the Lord while He may be found.

The good news is that my brother is meeting us today at the facility where my dad is to help me transport him to his doctor’s appointment.  Originally he was just going to meet us at the doctor’s office in Omaha.  While I had some concerns about getting dad in and out of the van, my brother thought is was very doable.  I am not sure what changed his mind, but I am thankful since my dad is very rigid and hard to move and I only put in on his bed last night! 

The other exciting thing is that I finally have a working cell phone!  For the past 4 years, I have not gotten a signal here with T-Moble.  However last week we changed cell phone providers and I have a signal!  It is so nice to be able to call home with out having to use mom’s phone and run up her bill (which she never lets me pay for)!  So now I don’t feel so isolated. 

I am not sure how often I will update – but please pray for my dad’s appointment this afternoon with his nerologist.  This doctor is very good and was the one able to diagnos dad’s disease.  My dad is still looking for the “magic” pill that will cure everything.  Pray that dad will understand the realities of what he has.  Pray for good time as a family- we will all be in the van for the trip to and from Nebraska.  Traditionally these have never been good – I am hopeful that this time it will be different.

