But they who wait for the Lord shall renew their strength; They shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary. This is one of my favorite verses and it comes from the book of Isaiah.

As I drove to Nebraska last week, there was a semi truck with this verse printed on the back of the truck.

Ever think about eagles soaring?

For an eagle to soar, it has nothing to do with flapping his wings.  It is all about trust – trust in the wind to carry him.  With outstretched wings, the eagle turns into the wind and soars.  The winds “carry” the eagle.  To soar is all about the eagle trusting the wind to carry him.  And it is beautiful to watch as he soars gracefully and effortlessly!

That same imagery comes to light in the passage from Isaiah –

“He gives power to the faint, and to him who has no might he increases strength.
Even youths shall faint and be weary, and young men shall fall exhausted;
but they who wait for the Lord shall renew their strength;
they shall mount up with wings like eagles;
they shall run and not be weary;
they shall walk and not faint.”
Isaiah 40:29-31

It is about trusting in the Lord for strength as  you wait for Him to give direction – whether to walk or run.  Like the eagle that soars gracefully and effortlessly because it trusts the wind to do its part, so we “soar” when we trust God to do His part.  And His part is amazingly wonderful.
Before going to Nebraska, I was trying to soak in the word as much as possible and as I was driving down to Nebraska and saw the truck with my favorite verse on it, I was reminded to let go of all my preconceived plans and ideas and to trust God to give me the words and actions that were needed.  Once I started to pray for God to help me release any ideas that I had and to give me His eyes to see and His ears to hear with, the trip became very interesting.
I tend to think about the “What if’s” a lot and once I began to let go of possible scenarios, I began to look at things differently.  I had more patience with my dad who can be very trying at times.  I was able to listen to him and ask questions to draw him out.  He began to share some of his thoughts about where he was.  He laughed more and his personality began to come out.

There were also  times when he became frustrated because he would get interrupted or couldn’t complete a thought or a sentence.  When he got frustrated, he would lash out with harsh words or some physical way.  At one point, he grabbed my hand as I was trying to explain something to me and tried to squeeze it.  He wanted to inflict some pain, but had the wrong grip and since he has an “all or nothing” response – it didn’t work this time.  I had to talk to him to calm him down and get him to let go.  He continued to be frustrated and lash out with verbal assaults.  At one point, I told my dad that we did not deserve to be talked to like this and that we were going to leave.  I turned and started to walk out of the room.  My brother and mother followed.  My dad was giving us the look that said, you don’t dare walk out on me.  We did.

The next day when I went back, he was a different man.  He needed someone to stand up to him and I never imagined that it would be me – but God gave me the strength and the words to  do and say what was needed.

When one soars with God – it feels right and good , even in the midst of a hard situation.

So now the prayer is that God will continue to give me the ability to see as He sees and to hear as He hears, so that I can bring His comfort, healing and love into a situation.  To run the race and not grow weary.  To walk alongside others in their trials and not grow faint.  To be there for the long haul to give God the glory!

To soar as an eagle – gracefully and effortlessly – because it is God who gives the strength.