It is springtime in Nebraska.  I had forgotten how pretty it can be with all the flowering trees, lilacs and spring flowers.  The fragrance of spring is all around me.

My parents have a flowering apple tree in the front yard.  I think my dad planted it shortly after they moved into the house.

The apple tree is in full bloom and it is beautiful.  The flowers are small and range in color from almost white to a dark pink.  The tree is just loaded with flowers and smells wonderful.  It has been so much fun to drive around and see the beauty of spring.  The colors are brilliant and the fragrances delightful.

Around me,

such beauty.

Spring time can also bring some amazing storms.  There have been some amazing rainstorms.  Along with the storms, there were some winds that were producing a tornado like vortex. Thankfully these winds were not all that close to my parents house, but close enough to leave the ground covered with flower petals.

One day he got into a boat with his disciples and he said to them, “Le us go across to the other side of the lake.’  So they set out and as they sailed he fell asleep.  And a windstorm came down on the lake and they were filling with water and were in danger.  And they went and woke him, saying, “Master, Master, we are perishing!”  And he awoke and rebuked the wind and the raging waves and they eased and there was a calm.  He said to them, “Where is your faith?”  And they were afraid and they marveled, saying to one another, “Who then is this, that he commands even winds and water and they obey him?|  (Luke 8:22-25)

The winds are blowing strong here in Nebraska.  I have been hit hard by the storms of life and yet I know that I don’t have to fear since the one who commands the wind and water is still in charge.  However it has still been a difficult week.

Mom is doing very well, but there are some issues between mom and dad that I don’t like nor do I  understand.

My dad is struggling with the impending changes.  He comes across like a caged animal, pacing and growling trying to figure out the next move.  He doesn’t like what the next move appears to be and is not going to give up without a fight.

Mom’s blood pressure goes up every time dad comes for a visit.

Dad is trying to convince everyone that he is able to stay here by himself and yet everyone knows that is impossible.

Mom is feisty and wants to walk out of the hospital on her own.

Dad is just starting to try to use the tools that were given to him in rehab after his hip surgery 18 months ago.

I have been juggling 2 very different schedules and needs.

The fragrance of spring – the sound of falling rain – the winds that drive the flower petals to the ground.  This is  spring and a good description of my life at the moment.  Sweet times of fellowship, struggles against the status quo, struggles against the  the uphill battle of wills.  Life is hard, but God is good and his mercies are new every morning.