Winter Running, at least this winter, has been extremely challenging.   I have tried to figure out how to describe what it feels like to run on the ice topped with crunchy white stuff  and a powdery top!  Some of my recent runs have been the  most challenging due to the recent snow. During these runs, my foot would hit the powdery white stuff on top causing a slight slip. If I hit the powdery stuff too hard, my foot would get to the crunchy white stuff below and sometimes get stuck.   But over all it is just very slippery.    My feet had a much harder time staying under my body.  But as difficult as it was on the powdery, snowy trails, the  hardest adjustment for me to make was from the asphalt back to snow-covered trail.  Hitting the rock solid asphalt was so exhilarating and gave me confidence to keep going.  These were some of the longest  5.5 miles runs I have had.

However while out on for the run, I began to see parallels between my run and my life!  When my feet were on the asphalt, I was confident.  On the asphalt, my feet were securely under me and I was able to gain some speed – not concerned about falling.  It is a great feeling.  It was rock solid beneath my feet, just as Christ is the rock solid foundation of my life.  Psalm 18:1-3 is a great summary of this truth – I love you O LORD, my strength.  The LORD is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer, my God, my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold. I call upon the LORD who is worthy to be praised and I am saved from my enemies. There are many other verses that talk about God as rock, fortress and strength.  This is the foundation of my life and without that solid foundation, I would certainly be thrown around with every wind of doctrine.

Once I hit the snow-covered trail, my feet would slip.  If I lose my moorings that come from the Word of God, I slip through life.  But even when I am securely grounded in the word, there are  times of uncertainty that I can navigate because I know God and that He is faithful to do what is good for me – even though i don’t always see that or understand it while going through it.  I have a couple of things in my life at this moment that cause uncertainty – my dad’ health, starting a new organization, parenting, etc.  But because of the rock solid faith that I have in God and His trustworthiness, I can wait patiently for His to make the path clear and stable again.  Just as hitting the slippery trail after being on asphalt takes some adjustment before it feels easier on the body and things get easier.

Running takes discipline to get out and run even when I don’t feel like it.  Staying grounded in God’s word takes discipline as well.  But when one is centered on the important things, the things that life brings as I walk/run that trail, become easier to withstand –  not because I am a better person, but because I know the King of Kings and He will always do what will bring Him the glory and will refine me into the person He wants me to be!

I am thankful for the Rock upon which my feet and my faith are grounded!

