When I first came to Bethlehem Baptist Church(BBC) 14 years ago, Char was one of those people who seemed to be everywhere, doing everything.  I wondered how one got so involved at such a large church.  At the time I came to BBC, the average attendance was between 700-800 on a Sunday morning and everyone fit comfortably in the sanctuary at the down town capus!   Char’s attitude was contagious and her smile welcomed everyone who saw it.  She seemed to be one of those “larger than life” people.  To a new comer, that was a bit intimidating – at least until I got to know her.

My first encounter was when I heard Char speak in a women’s Sunday Summer Sunday School class DT.  I was amazed to hear her say, “This coming weekend, I will be attending my 50th High School class reunion.”  Surely I heard her incorrectly.  There is no way she could be attending her 50th reunion.  I was so stunned by this statement that I don’t remember anything else she said.  After wards I asked some questions and found out it really was a true statement and I was totally amazed because she did not LOOK or ACT like she was old enough for a 50 year class reunion!  She intrigued me and I began to watch her more closely.

I really don’t remember when I first talked face to face with Char.  She is one of those people that just seems to always have been a part of my life.  Her passion and energy for the tasks that God has given her were and continues to be unstoppable and unshakeable.  Watching her prepare and travel to Africa to serve families by taking care of their children during a conference and going to the deep south to help out after Hurricane Katrina made me reconsider life.

Char has been a mentor to me, even though we have never been intentional about that. I have learned much from watching her live her life.  She can encourage me with a simple sentence like, “I am so excited about what you  are doing and can’t wait to see what God will do!”  She has a heart that serves God whole heartedly.  I think she has more energy than I do.  The only thing that has slowed her down is her hip – she recently went through a hip revision surgery.  A lengthy surgery to replace the stem of a prosthesis. The surgery is one thing, but the recovery will be long –  6-8 weeks of non weight-bearing!  Then rehab to regain strength and endurance.  This will be a lot to endure for one who has been so active.

Char has been a living testimony of the admonition from Titus 2:3-5;

Older women likewise are to be reverent in behavior not slanderers or slaves to much wine. They are to teach what is good, and so train the young women to love their husbands and children,  to be self-controlled,  pure, working at home, kind, and submissive to their own husbands,  that the word of God may not be reviled.

Thanks for being such a great example to this “young” woman.