Tags

,

I love the Christmas season – the lights, the trees, the reason for the season.  It is just a fun festive time of the year and I look forward to it all year.  But this year, I have been reminded that it is not about the baby in the manger.  The nativity scenes that show up everywhere are pointing to what happened 33 years later on a hill called Golgatha and the death and resurrection of our Lord.

On the way home from Nebraska, we were listening to Christmas songs and the song “It’s about the Cross” by Go Fish sums up what Christmas is all about.  As I listened to the words of this song, I was reminded that as much as I love Christmas, my focus really needs to be on Easter.

As you read the words to the song, let God speak to you about the true meaning of Christmas;

It’s not just about the manager where the babe laid
It’s not all about the angels who sang for him on that day
I t’s not just about the shepherds or the bright and shining star
It’s not about the wise men who traveled from afar

It’s about the cross
It’s about my sin
It’s about how Jesus cam to be borne one
So that we might be born again
It’s about the stone
That was rolled away
So that you and I could have real life some day
It’s about the cross
It’s not just about the presents underneath the tree
It’s not all about the feeling that this season bring to me
It’s not just about coming home to be with those you love
it’s not all ab out the beauty of the sno I’m dream of


It’s about the cross
It’s about my sin
It’s about how Jesus cam to be borne one
So that we might be born again
It’s about the stone
That was rolled away
So that you and I could have real life some day
It’s about the cross


The beginning of the story is wonderful and great
But it’s the ending that can save you and that’s why we celebrate
It’s about the cross, It’s about my sin
It’s about how Jesus came to be born once
So that we might be  born again
It’s about God’s love nailed to a tree
It’s about every drop of blood that flowed
from Him when it should’ve been me
It’s about the stone that was rolled away
So that you and I could have a life some day
It’s about the cross

Now – enjoy the song:

