Before leaving for Nebraska, I had a party.  The guest list was small – one person and the topic was feeling sorry for myself.  It had been a long week and I was not looking forward to the long drive ahead of me.  There were a lot of thoughts running through my mind.  Being a wife and mom and the Thanksgiving holiday coming up, I was torn between doing what I knew was right and what I really wanted to do.  I knew what was going to be ahead of me in Nebraska and the kids were wanting to be at home.  The long drives were beginning to take their toll on me and I just wanted some down time.  I rarely have a pity party – but this time I was having a big one.

The Lord got my attention when I was driving to a meeting prior to leaving the city and my dad called.  He wanted to know when I was going to be there.  He was so excited about the visit from my family.  I just needed to know whether driving down to Nebraska was going to have an impact.  God didn’t have to show me that brief glimpse into my dad’s heart – but He did!

What I learned through all of this was that doing what is right is not always easy or convenient, but the rewards are so worth it.  My dad was amazed at how quickly I was able to respond to him at night and that I was patient with him when he was so slow at doing routine tasks.  My dad appreciated that fact that I would walk with him around and around the addition, continuing to give him encouragement and reminders as to what he needed to do to walk correctly.  He also appreciated the fact that I cooked three meals a day for him!  For just a few days, my dad felt love and compassion as well as heard some hard things about the hard work he needs to do to get his strength back.

It was a hard trip, but God was good in all that he did and my dad’s hears continues to be touched by the love of others.  Thanks for praying for us as we continue to serve my family.

