My dad is in the sunset of his life.  My dad lives 7.5 hours away from where I live.  It takes a lot to get from the twin cities to the small town in Nebraska where he lives.  But the words of my friend who lost her dad this summer keep echoing in my ears – “Corrie, do what ever it takes and spend as much time as you can with your dad in his last days.  You will never regret it.”

My friend spent six weeks or so driving back and forth to see her parents as her dad was dying.  It was hard but it was good and what she learned and what her kids learned are priceless.

I didn’t realize how important those words would become to me over these months as decisions need to be made about family trips and involvement in good things.  The priority for our family to spend time with my dad with the hopes that he will see the beauty of the Christian life lived out before him through acts of service and words of encouragement.

Thanksgiving is just around the corner and as I have talked with my parents, they are really looking forward to my family coming down and all the craziness that comes with a family of 7 trying to all get to the same place in roughly the same time!  With kids now in college and High School, it is not as easy to get away for a week!  But we are making it work and we should all be together for Thanksgiving day.

Pray that it will be a wonderful time for all of us!