It has been almost a week since I found out about my dad’s “new” diagnosis and I have had more emotions than I thought a person could have in one week!  By Sunday, I thought I had my emotions under control . . .

. . . and then I went to church!  I ran into a friend who recently lost her father.  As I hugged her and heard her story, the tears came flooding out – I really need to get those tear ducts checked – these leaks just keep appearing out of now where!  I was able to share briefly about my father and her words of wisdom that she has gleaned from the past weeks have been invaluable.

The worship songs at church went right to my heart.  The songs we sang were some of my favorites and God used them to help me gain perspective on the week that has just transpired.

The first song, Mighty to Save, brought a wave of tears as the words washed over me, God began to work in my heart.  I was reminded that  God is BIGGER than anything – nothing or no one is bigger  than God – that includes my dad’s hard heart and an untreatable rare brain disease.  As the words continued to just flow over me, God’s work continued.

The lyrics to the song –

Everyone needs compassion,
Love that’s never failing;
Let mercy fall on me.
Everyone needs forgiveness,
The kindness of a Savior;
The Hope of nations.

Savior, He can move the mountains,
My God is Mighty to save,
He is Mighty to save.
Forever, Author of salvation,
He rose and conquered the grave,
Jesus conquered the grave.

So take me as You find me,
All my fears and failures,
Fill my life again.
I give my life to follow
Everything I believe in,
Now I surrender.

Savior, He can move the mountains,
My God is Mighty to save,
He is Mighty to save.
Forever, Author of salvation,
He rose and conquered the grave,
Jesus conquered the grave.

Shine your light and let the whole world see,
We’re singing for the glory of the risen King

Jesus shine your light and let the whole world see,
We’re singing for the glory of the risen King

Savior, He can move the mountains,
My God is Mighty to save,
He is Mighty to save.
Forever, Author of salvation,
He rose and conquered the grave,
Jesus conquered the grave.

(Fielding / Morgan Hill song Copyright © 2006 Hill song Publishing)

Another of my favorite songs, The Solid Rock, was another song that we sang.  This song reminded me where my strength  comes from – the solid rock of Jesus!  What a great reminder!

  1. My hope is built on nothing less
    Than Jesus’ blood and righteousness;
    I dare not trust the sweetest frame,
    But wholly lean on Jesus’ name.

    • Refrain:
      On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;
      All other ground is sinking sand,
      All other ground is sinking sand.
  2. When darkness veils His lovely face,
    I rest on His unchanging grace;
    In every high and stormy gale,
    My anchor holds within the veil.
  3. His oath, His covenant, His blood
    Support me in the whelming flood;
    When all around my soul gives way,
    He then is all my hope and stay.
  4. When He shall come with trumpet sound,
    Oh, may I then in Him be found;
    Dressed in His righteousness alone,
    Faultless to stand before the throne.

(Edward Mote/Public Domain)

And the last song that God used to calm my heart with regard to the future was, I will Glory in My Redeemer.  Several years ago when a good friend of mine was called home by the Lord, He used this song as I grieved the loss of my friend.  It was a deep loss as the Lord used him to bring a little spit fire named Ming into our lives.  Now my prayer is for my dad to hear the call of God before he passes from this side of eternity and that he will glory in the Redeemer as well – that Jesus will be his redeemer!

I will glory in my Redeemer
Whose priceless blood has ransomed me
Mine was the sin that drove the bitter nails
And hung Him on that judgment tree
I will glory in my Redeemer
Who crushed the power of sin and death
My only Savior before the Holy Judge
The Lamb Who is my righteousness
The Lamb Who is my righteousness

I will glory in my Redeemer
My life He bought, my love He owns
I have no longings for another
I’m satisfied in Him alone
I will glory in my Redeemer
His faithfulness my standing place
Though foes are mighty and rush upon me
My feet are firm, held by His grace
My feet are firm, held by His grace

I will glory in my Redeemer
Who carries me on eagle’s wings
He crowns my life with loving kindness
His triumph song I’ll ever sing
I will glory in my Redeemer
Who waits for me at gates of gold
And when He calls me it will be paradise
His face forever to behold
His face forever to behold
His face forever to behold

(Steve and Vicki Cook/2001 Sovereign Grace Music)

When I talked with the worship leader after the service and made the comment when I have a bad week, he always has the best worship.  His comment still warms my heart, “It is not me – it is God.  He knows exactly what you need.”  What a humble man with a great heart to serve the Lord.

My emotions still run wild on days – but as I let these songs just wash over me, I am renewed in my focus and God calms my heart and helps me to reflect on what He has given me and not on what I am loosing – there will be a time for that – but not yet.  God is still at work on my dad’s heart.

I am reminded of a quote that I heard a while back from Chuck Swindoll.  It goes something like – “There is not wall so thick that God can not get through, no heart so hard that He cannot pierce.”  Praying for God to pierce my dad’s heart!

