There have been a pair of hawks in our backyard this summer – actually for a couple of summers, but they have really caught my eye this summer.  I have learned to listen for their calls and then sit in the back yard watching them dart among the trees, calling to one another.  What fun to watch them play “hide and seek” with one another in the trees, calling out to each other and then darting after one another.

While watching them I am continually reminded of the following verse from the Gospel of John – “My sheep hear my voice and I know them and they follow me.”  The larger context in chapter 10 talks about Jesus being the great shepherd and calling his sheep by name – no one can enter into the fold of God through another gate – Jesus is the way.

So as I have watched my hawks in the back yard and learned to recognize their calls, I have pondered much on what it means to listen to the voice of Jesus and respond to Him.  Sometimes it means saying no to good things so that I am available for the better things that He has for me.  Sometimes it means sitting at His feet like Mary sat at the feet of Jesus and listened to His every word while Martha, her sister, was busy in the kitchen.  Jesus words to Martha – “Martha, Martha, you are anxious and troubled about many things, but one thing is necessary. Mary has chosen the good portion, which will not be taken away from her.” It is very clear that serving and being busy is not always the best choice!

I am still learning what it means to listen for the voice of Jesus and to obey His voice.  I am learning to sit and be still in a world that tells me that being busy is a good thing – one needs to be productive!

I am still learning from my hawks  – God has given me a great visual.

