My grandmother was an amazing woman.  She was an excellent cook and loved having family and friends over for a meal, tea or just a chat.  I think she was a head of her time when it came to entertaining.  She had the most wonderful dishes – sometimes they matched and sometimes they didn’t, but no matter – she could always make the table look wonderful!  I think she might be responsible for the trend of putting mismatched dishes together and making it look good!

In high School my grandmother died and I was given her china.  It is currently packed away because I don’t have a china hutch to display it in and make it easily accessible for entertaining.  But here is a picture of what her china looks like:

I have always loved Grandma's China!

I have always loved Grandma's China!

I have been adding some extra pieces to the china to make it a bit more modern.  I love using her china it sets a beautiful table.  Someday, I hope to be able to set a table with Grandma’s china for the Christmas brunch my church has each December!

When I was home recently, my mom was in a cleaning mood and said she had some of Grandma’s serving dishes.  She asked me if I wanted them.  The quick and easy answer was YES!!!  Here are pictures of my recent additions from Grandma’s collection!

Serving bowl with matching small bowls!

Serving bowl with matching small bowls!

I love the colors on this set!

I love the colors on this set!

I think this is my favorite!

I think this is my favorite!

This one would be beautiful just sitting on a table!

This one would be beautiful just sitting on a table!

I have cleaned out one of my cabinets to make room for these recent additions.  So if you come to my house – you might see these on the table!

