Tags

,

Pearlington is a small town 8 miles north of the Gulf on the Pearl River.  I have said that opening sentence many times over the past 4 years as I have talked about Pearlington.  But Pearlington is more that a small town hit by the eye of Hurricane Katrina.  It is a town with people that I have come to love.  I know their stories.  Pearlington is filled with faces of people that I can’t wait to see and spend time with.  Here is a glimpse of some of the “Pearls”  I have come to love;

Miss Jonnie

Miss Jonnie

Miss Jonnie is one of the best cooks in Pearlington and kept us well fed on all of our trips.  She and Giovanna were very good freinds and Miss Jonnie always found ways to have her help when things were slow.

Rick

Rick

I think Rick worked with us every time we came down.  We grew to love him and he really did become part of the team.  He is a hard worker and has a big heart to serve others – this cost him as his own house was the last one he worked on most days.  I would love to take a team down just to work on his house!

Larry

Larry

Larry was one of the men who ran the recovery center for the past 3+ years.  He is one of the first people we met and made us feel right at home.  He really looked out for the kids and when there were storms coming, he made sure we were well taken care off.  He is also makes a great Fried Turkey!

But probably some of the most special “Pearls are the kids that I have gotten to know.  They are precious and will always have a special place in my heart;

Athena

Athena

Britain

Britain

Cassy

Cassy

Shauna

Shauna

Sunny

Sunny

These are just a few of the many “pearls” that I have come to know.  I wish I had pictures of all of them.   I am excited to see them all again in less than a week!

