Tags

I have been told all of my life that I am like my father.   I have heard phrases like, “You are just like your dad,” “You are acting like your dad,” and “You think like your dad,”  While that can be a good thing, there is another Father who is perfect and it is just as important to please and glorify Him. I have been thinking about how I represent both my earthly father and my Heavenly Father.

I resemble my father in looks.  I have his blue eyes, his light color hair and in the face.  The resemblance is easy to see.  I know that I am created in the image of my Heavenly Father as it says so in Genesis 1 – Then God said, “Let us make man in our image, after our likeness. And let them have dominion over the fish of the sea and over the birds of the heavens and over the livestock and over all the earth and over every creeping thing that creeps on the earth.” So God created man in his own image, in the image of God he created him; male and female he created them. So while I know that I am created in God’s image, it is amazing to realize that so are almost other believers and we all look different.  God’s creativity is amazing.

My dad has always spoken his mind.  My Heavenly Father always speaks the truth in love.  When the truth is spoken in love, there is a recognition of the truth and a response.  Most will respond positively, but others, like the Pharisees respond in anger because it exposes their sin publicly and they don’t want it exposed.

My dad is always  concerned about others – checking on his older sister, making sure that when I come down, I have money for gas etc.  He has a big heart to take care of others.  My Heavenly Father also has a big heart for the lost – He gave His only son to pay the price for the sins of the world.  This is the reason for Easter – not bunnies and eggs!

I don’t know how my dad thinks, I can’t read minds, but my Heavenly Father is omniscient and knows everything. While I can’t claim Omniscience, I can say that living according to the Word of God and learning to listening to His still small voice, it can appear to others as “reading” minds, I suppose.  Having lived with my father for 22 years and watching him,  I have come to know him and how he reacts.  That served me well when I was in Nebraska.  I could read my dad’s eyes and non verbals and anticipate his requests.  It has always made my mom a bit unnerved to see me be able to “read” my dad’s mind.

This also meant that at times I had to come across with some hard truths that my dad would rather not hear.  It started the first morning that I was there while taking a shower.  I had heard and seen how my dad had become pretty demanding.  He had nurses that would come at the push of a button.  I also know my mom’s make up and she would not be deal well with this kind of behavior.  While in the shower, I began to become aware that I would need to put down the law on my dad – making it clear that he would need to become much more independent and less dependent on mom for getting things done.  This was confirmed when my aunt called at breakfast and mentioned some things about his attitude.

When I got to the Care Center to help convey him home, he was having trouble sitting up.  He asked for help.  When I responded with , “No dad, you need to do it yourself.  If  you can’t get your feet to the floor yourself, you really have no business coming home today.”  His response to me is not printable.  I continued with the tough response that said he had spent 4 months after his surgery learning to be independent so that he could come home.  He needed to continue that at home or he could just plan on staying in the care center.   If he could not get his feet to the floor, he should just lay back down and  stay put.  He got the message that I was serious and continued on with the task of getting up and into the wheel chair.  This type of scenario was replayed over and over again through out the week.

While it has been an amazing week – it has been very draining as well.  The only way to get through a week like this one is to throw yourself at the foot of the cross and let God lead.  My prayer was that I would represent my heavenly Father well during my week serving my parents.   Prayers were answered.  Before I left, my mother said, “I am sorry to see you leave although I know you need to leave.”  This is a first for my mother to express such a sentiment.

Now I am off for a long soak in the tub – I hurt all over!

