I am getting ready to leave for Nebraska and for those of you who know something about my family background, know that this is not an easy place for me to go. It is generally one of the most stressful trips I take. However this time as I was preparing to go, I have felt nothing but peace and calm – not generally the case. As I have reflected on why it feels so different to me this time, I have gone back to one of the songs that we sing at my church called Marvelous Light. The words to the song are;

Into marvelous light I’m running,
Out of darkness, out of shame.
By the cross you are the truth,
You are the life, you are the way!

I once was fatherless,
a stranger with no hope;
Your kindness wakened me,
Awakened me, from my sleep

Your love it beckons deeply,
a call to come and die.
By grace now I will come
And take this life, take your life.

Sin has lost it’s power,
death has lost it’s sting.
From the grave you’ve risen
VICTORIOUSLY!

Chorus:
Into marvelous light I’m running,
Out of darkness, out of shame.
By the cross you are the truth,
You are the life, you are the way!

My dead heart now is beating,
My deepest stains now clean.

Your breath fills up my lungs.
Now I’m free. now I’m free!

Sin has lost it’s power,
death has lost it’s sting.
From the grave you’ve risen

VICTORIOUSLY!

Into marvelous light I’m running,
Out of darkness, out of shame.
By the cross you are the truth,
You are the life, you are the way!

We sang that song in church on Sunday and the words from the verse – My dead heart now is beating, My deepest stains now clean, Your breath fills up my lungs, Now I’m free; Now I’m Free – hit me as if for the first time. When I think about what Christ did on the cross for me – what it has freed me from – it is overwhelming and freeing at the same time. Before I trusted in Christ, my heart was fighting against God and now it is beating in sync with God. All my sin has been covered by the blood of Christ and I am free from the overwhelming burden of the debt I could never pay. I am Free in Christ.

But what does that freedom in Christ mean? It means that I am free from the links to the past and the way I have dealt with my family – especially as a teenager. Christ in me gives me a new way to deal with my family as the new creation that I am. That is freedom and when I really believe it, it gives me a peace and tranquility that can only comes from resting in this truth.

