Tags

,

A marathon this year or not.  I have been on the every other year plan in terms of training and running a marathon.  At least one of  kids wants me to do Chicago again this year.  I have been thinking a lot about doing it again, but I would need to register for it now.  It is difficult to know how things are going to be with my dad from day to day – let alone in 6 months.  I have not had the peace about committing time, energy and resources into something 6 months out.  It is not just committing my time to train and run – it affects my husband and kids as well.  They are willing to let me have the time to train – but with all that is going on with my dad – it makes planning ahead so much harder.

So this year I am going to refrain from running a marathon and work on speed and overall conditioning.  I hope to run at least one 20 mile race either in May or September.  If I can get some good training runs in before May – I might do both.  I am hoping to get my mile times fast enough to run a 4.5 hour marathon – almost good enough to qualify for Boston.

It was a hard decision to make, but I feel good about it and the family is OK with it – even though one is still pushing for Chicago again (maybe next year).  And I am glad I made the decision before yesterday.  I almost always sit Asian style with my legs underneath me.  Yesterday I was sitting on the floor outside the room where my youngest son has his violin lessons and when I started to get up, my left knee was extremely painful.  I didn’t think I was going to make it up and needed some assistance from the door handle to pull myself up.  Where it was the most painful seems a bit mysterious to me.  It doesn’t hurt when I run – but I will need to get it checked out.  Hopefully it won’t be a long healing process.  It is still painful when I bend my knee today.  I will be bracing or wrapping it just as a reminder to be careful.

