It has been almost 3 weeks since I ran the Chicago Marathon. For those of you who have been reading this blog for the past months, it has been primarily about training and running a marathon.  I really do have a life outside of running.  I am a wife, mother of 5 and a teacher.  I really thought life would slow down post marathon, but that was not to be.

Two days before leaving for Chicago, I found out that my youngest daughter would need to have her second bone lengthening surgery.  The surgeon promised that she would get the first open date on his surgical calendar.  That date turned out to be the 20th of October. 

So once back from Chicago, I took a couple days to rest and recover and then I was in high gear getting ready for Giovanna’s surgery.  It was a whirlwind week to get all the pieces in place for me to be gone for a week with her at the hospital.  Thankfully the hospital is local and Gary and the kids could come visit often.  I am so thankful for friends who stepped in to provide meals, take kids to various places and fill in the gaps as required.  I am also thankful that Courtney has her license and could get herself to classes and work!

Giovanna has come through the surgery very well in many respects.  In other ways we are dealing with some hard issues.  For more about her surgery and the process that she is going through, you can find her blog in the side bar of this page.  Just click on the “Fearfully and Wonderfully Made” and you will get to her blog. 

The kids had a great time in Chicago and want me to run the marathon again next year – we will see.  Now it is time to help Giovanna through the next 2-3 months with her fixator and get ready for a conference in Thailand in January.  I am excited to run on a beach – it will be a nice change from the asphalt trails here in Minnesota!

